180 East 5th Street, Suite 950
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Phone: (651) 297-7100 | Fax: (651) 296-5866
Email: clestaff@mbcle.state.mn.us

Law School Course Attendance

Lawyers can claim one CLE credit for every 60 minutes of attendance (either for credit or as an auditor) at a regular course offered by a law school approved by the American Bar Association. The attendance must have occurred after the lawyer was admitted in Minnesota. See Rule 5A(9) for additional information.

Expand all

How to Report Attendance through OASIS
1. Log in to your OASIS account

2. Enter the appropriate Event Code from the list below

a. Select the event code based on the year in which the course was attended
b. If it was a summer course, you may select the event code for either school year

3. OASIS will only allow you to enter one credit per credit type requested

a. Enter the credit under one or more of the three credit types (standard, ethics, or bias) for which you are seeking credit
b. To report additional credits follow the instructions in Step 4 below

4. Send additional required information about the course to this office by email

a. Name of the course
b. Name of the law school
c. Dates of attendance at the course and the start and stop times for class(es)
d. Number of credits you are claiming (i.e. the total number of hours attended)
e. If claiming ethics or bias credits, a statement as to how the course meets the ethics or elimination of bias requirements as defined by CLE Rules 2F, 2G, 6A and/or 6B

Note: Credit may only be claimed under Rule 5A(9) for “a regular course offered by a law school approved by the American Bar Association.” If the course was taken pursuant to an LL.M. program and is not a regular course, then an application for course credit may be made. The LL.M. course would not be automatically approved under Rule 5A(9).

How to Report Attendance through Paper Affidavit
1. Use the Affidavit Appendix III form

2. Include the $10 paper processing filing fee (checks only – credit cards not accepted by mail)

3. Mail the Affidavit and $10 fee to the Board office

Event Codes
153707 (7/1/12-6/30/13)
181698 (7/1/13-6/30/14)
193175 (7/1/14-6/30/15)
207770 (7/1/15-6/30/16)
225546 (7/1/16-6/30/17)
244901 (7/1/17-6/30/18)
264467 (7/1/18-6/30/19)

Some documents require a PDF reader to view properly.