FILED

STATE OF MINNESOTA e e 2020
IN SUPREME COURT OFFICE OF
APPBELLATE COURTS
ADMO09-8008

ORDER ESTABLISHING TEMPORARY EXCEPTION TO
RULE 6(D) OF THE RULES OF THE MINNESOTA STATE
BOARD OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION

The Rules of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education limit
Minnesota lawyers to “15 hours of credit within the 45 hour CLE period for on-demand
courses.” Minn. R. Continuing Legal Educ. 6(D).

The Governor of the State of Minnesota declared a peacetime emergency on March
13, 2020, Minn. Stat. § 12.31, subd. 2(a) (2018), and additional restrictions on public
activities have been imposed. Based on these extraordinary events, and in light of the
court’s inherent authority to regulate the practice of law in Minnesota,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

The 15-credit limit for on-demand continuing legal education courses in Rule 6(D)
of the Rules of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education is suspended,
effectively immediately, for lawyers in category 3 due to report August 31, 2020 for the
reporting period July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2020. This suspension remains in effect
_until further order of the court.

Dated: March 18, 2020 BY THE COURT:

Lorie S. Gildea
Chief Justice



